Understanding Dust 30 Years After CCM
(A Symposium in Honor of Geoff Clayton's 65th Birthday)

University of Colorado, University Memorial Center
Boulder, Colorado, USA

August 4-6, 2019

Symposium Topics

This symposium is aimed at honoring the scientific accomplishments of Dr. Geoffrey C. Clayton, who has had a lifetime of influence over the field of dust astrophysics. The symposium will consist of invited and contributed oral and poster talks on current research and future problems in dust astrophysics, and will cover the following topics:

  • Circumstellar and interstellar dust in the Local Group
  • The evolution of R Coronae Borealis stars
  • Binary white-dwarf mergers
  • Supernovae
  • Planetary nebulae
  • Extinction curves
  • Comparison of theory, simulations, and observations
  • Future problems: where do we go from here?

Scientific Program

Invited reviews by: L. Valencic, B. Sugerman, K. Gordon

Contributed talks by: B. Draine, K. Misselt, D. Massa, T. Ueta, N. Smith, K. Krafton, J. Andrews, E. Montiel, J. Staff, C. Crawford, P. Motl, T. Geballe

Conference and Reception Venues

The symposium will be held at University Memorial Center on the University of Colorado campus in Boulder, Colorado. At 5,430 feet above sea level, Boulder is at the base of the Rocky Mountain foothills; it enjoys 300 plus days of sunshine a year and moderate weather. Boulder hosts thriving tech and natural foods industries, supports a renowned entrepreneurial community, has some of the region's best restaurants, and is home to many federal research labs and a world-class university.

Registrant Portal + Photo Gallery (login required)

Symposium Sponsors:

The symposium is being organized by the Space Science Institute (Boulder).


Karly Pitman

Scientific Organizing Committee:

Co-chairs: Jen Andrews (Univ. Arizona) & Margaret Hanson (Univ. Cincinnati)
Karl Gordon (STScI)
UJ Sofia (Claremont McKenna, Pitzer, Scripps Colleges)
Mike Wolff (Space Science Institute)

Local Organizing Committee:

Chair: Karly Pitman (Space Science Institute)
Mike Wolff (Space Science Institute)